Duplin County Juvenile Crime Prevention Council

January 5, 2021 JCPC Meeting Minutes

Meeting Was Held Via Conference Call

JCPC Members in attendance:

- 1. George Futrelle, Chair (County Manager Designee)
- 2. Jaime Carr (County Commissioner Appointee)
- 3. Darryl McCaster, Co-Chair (County Commissioner Appointee)
- 4. Melissa Reese (AMH/DD/SA or Designee)
- 5. A.J. Connors (Member of Faith Community)
- 6. Jessica Harper (Chief Court Counselor or Designee)
- 7. Beth Ricci (Local Health Director or Designee)
- 8. Leon Kea (Superintendent Designee)
- 9. Jason McGuirt (District Attorney Designee)
- 10. Jasmine Williams (Substance Abuse Professional)

Others in attendance:

- 1. Nancy Hodges (DPS Area Consultant)
- 2. Diane Herring (MCEC)
- 3. Ciaria Miller (MCEC)
- 4. Juan Jimenez (MCEC)
- 5. Earlean Rivers (DNA)
- 6. Nikita Newkirk (MCEC)

The regular meeting of the Duplin County Juvenile Crime Prevention Council was called to order by George Futrelle, JCPC Chair, with a welcome.

A.J. Connors (Member of Faith Community) gave the invocation

George Futrelle, JCPC Chair, introduced Trisha Brown, who will be replacing Jaime Carr, as a County Commissioner Appointee.

The November 2020 minutes were tabled until the February 2021 meeting.

Program Reports

- Juan Jiminez (MCEC) reported on the number of referrals for Psychological Services for the month of December, 2020
- Ciaria Miller (MCEC) reported on the number of referrals for Teen Court for the month of December, 2020

- Nikita Newkirk (MCEC) reported on the number of referrals for Restitution Community Services for the month of December, 2020.
- Dianne Herring (MCEC) reported on the number of referrals for Building Peace in Schools for the month of December, 2020
- Nikita Newkirk (MCEC) reported on the number of referrals for the Mentoring program for the month of September, 2020
- Earlean Rivers (DNA), reported on the number of referrals for Structured Learning for the month of August, 2020

JCPC Business

- Motion was made by A.J. Connors (Member of Faith Community) seconded by Jason McGuirt (District Attorney Designee) to approve the JCPC By-Laws.
- Motion was made by A.J. Connors (Member of Faith Community) seconded by Darryl McCaster, Co-Chair (County Commissioner Appointee) to approve the Needs Assessment Committee Report.
- Nancy Hodges (DPS Are Consultant) discussed the 2021-2022 JCPC RFP and motion was made by Melissa Reese (AMH/DD/SA or Designee) seconded by A.J. Connors (Member of Faith Community) to approve the 2021-2022 RFP and to set a deadline of February 19, 2021 to accept applications for the RFP.
- Nancy Hodges (DPS Area Consultant) asked for volunteer to serve on the Monitoring Committee to which Melissa Reese (AMH/DD/SA or Designee), Jason McGuirt (District Attorney Designee), and Leon Kea (Superintendent Designee) agreed to serve on.

JCPC Agency Updates

- Leon Kea (Superintendent Designee) announced that Duplin County Schools will be transitioning to remote learning from January 6, 2021 January 18, 2021.
- Jason McGuirt (District Attorney Designee) announced that the court system had shut back down.
- Jessica Harper (Chief Court Counselor or Designee) announces that complaints were slow coming in to her office.
- Melissa Reese (AMH/DD/SA or Designee) announced that Eastpointe employees still continue to work remotely but they are still providing training.

Next JCPC Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, February 2, 2020 via telephone.

<u>Adjourn</u>

With no further business motion was made by A.J. Connors (Member of Faith Community) seconded by Jason McGuirt (District Attorney Designee) to adjourn the meeting.

Approved by: ____

Chairman, George Futrelle

Date